Parañaque city jail blast: facts and names identified

prison time
Duterte's war on drugs prompted the surrender of hundreds of suspected drug users and pushers across the country. (image: CC0 Public Domain)

Here is a list of what we have gathered from the initial reports:

  • At least 10 people have died after an explosion inside the compound of Parañaque City Jail Thursday night.
  • According to the city police, the blast happened around 8:30 p.m. and specifically centered in the office of Supt. Gerald Bantag, a jail warden.
  • Bantag survived the attack but sustained shrapnel wounds.
  • Reports also revealed that two of the casualties are Chinese inmates who were meeting with Bantag in the said office.


During a press briefing on Friday, August 12, spokesperson of the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP) Senior Inspector Xavier Solda confirmed that a grenade caused the explosion.

He added that a pistol was also recovered from the scene.

Solda also revealed the likelihood of a jailbreak devised by the inmates. The plan might have included holding jail warden Bantag hostage.

“These are high profile detainees, posible na may tangkang pagtakas pero isa lang ito sa mga angulo. Hindi pa tapos ang imbestigasyon. Sa huli ma-e-establish natin talaga kung ano ang posibleng kadahilanang ito, nandoon sila sa area na ‘yon.”

(These are high profile detainees so it’s possible that they are planning a jailbreak but this is just one of the angles that we are trying to look at. We still need further investigation. Hopefully, we can finally establish what really happened and why they were there.)

The ten casualties were identified and eight of them were linked to illegal drugs:

  1. Jacky Huang
  2. Waren Manampen
  3. Ronald Domdom
  4. Danilo Pineda
  5. Oliver Sarreal
  6. Jeremy Flores
  7. Rodel Domdom
  8. Jonathan Ilas
  9. Yonghan Cai
  10. Joseph Villasor

According to reports, the Senior Officer of the Day and all the members of the Paranaque City Jail who were on duty during the night of the blast have been discharged from their posts.

The dismissed officials were replaced by the members of the Special Tactics and Response.

(Visited 235 times, 1 visits today)